IOWA FAILED BANKS

		1980
None		
		1981
None		
		1982
1	Humboldt	First National Bank—Closed 4/7/82
_	New bank	Hawkeye Bank and Trust
2	Mount Pleasant	Mount Pleasant Bank & Trust—Closed 8/6/82
	New bank	Hawkeye Bank and Trust
		1983
1	Bloomfield	Exchange Bank—Closed 9/13/83
		Edward Burchette, President
	NT 1 1	Duff Weed, EVP
	New bank	Iowa Bank & Trust
		114 East Jefferson Bloomfield 52537
		W. A. Krause, President
		Barry Smith, EVP
		1984
1	Aurelia	Farmers National Bank of Aurelia—Closed 6/21/84
	NT 1 1	John Christensen, President
	New bank	Heritage Bank, N.A.
		Box 626, 148 Main Aurelia 51005
		Earl Geiger, Chairman
		Randall Carlson, President
2	Mount Ayr	Tingley State Savings Bank—Closed 8/10/84
	5	Carl Riggs, Chairman
		R. P. Azelton, President
	Acquired by	Hawkeye Bank and Trust
		101 South Filmore
		Mount Ayr 50585
2	0 11 1	Roger Kerndt, President
3	Oakland	Oakland Savings Bank—Closed 9/7/84
		Floyd Foreman, President
		Ronald Wright, EVP

	New bank	Oakland State Bank 501 Pioneer Oakland 51560 Hugh Louden, Chairman S. L. Harken, President
		1985
1	Cherokee	The Steele State Bank—Closed 1/25/85
	NT 1 1	T. J. Steele, President
	New bank	Valley Bank & Trust
		200 South Second Cherokee 51012
		Tad Hammond, Chairman
		Herman Dinklage, President
2	Woodbine	The First National Bank—Closed 2/7/85
_	woodome	Kenner Swedburg, President
	New bank	Iowa Savings Bank
		425 Walker Street
		Woodbine 51579
		William Tufford, President
3	Inwood	Inwood State Bank—Closed 2/19/85
		Charles Riter, President
	Acquired by	Security Savings Bank
		Broadway & Main
		Larchwood 51241
4	Afton	H. R. Bonander, President Commercial State Bank—Closed 3/8/85
+	AII0II	M. J. Kelly, President
	New bank	Citizens Savings Bank
		100 East Railroad
		Afton 50830
		William Krause, Chairman
		Neil Conover, President
5	Odebolt	Peoples State Bank—Closed 4/26/85
		Duane Schofield, President
	New bank	Peoples Savings Bank
		Third & Main
		Odebolt 51458
		William Krause, Chairman
C	Managara	Neil Conover, EVP
6	Massena	Farmers Savings Bank—Closed 5/3/85
	New bank	Don Curry, President Union National Bank
	INCW DAIIK	101 Main
		Massena 50853

7	Story City	Story County State Bank—Closed 5/9/85 Robert E. Sweet, President
	New bank	Story County Bank & Trust
		522 Broad
		Story City 50248
0	TT 1	Ronald Fenton, Chairman
8	Urbana	Urbana Savings Bank—Closed 6/21/85 John A. Suchomel, President
	Acquired by	Peoples Bank and Trust
	riequirea by	101 Third Avenue, SW
		Cedar Rapids 52406
		John Sagers, President
_		Ted Welch, Chairman
9	Mineola	Mineola State Bank—Closed 8/6/85
	A aquirad by	Robert Schoening, President Glenwood State Bank
	Acquired by	32 North Walnut
		Glenwood 51534
		John Dean, President
10	Early	Early Savings Bank—Closed 11/1/85
		Donald Kelley, President
	Acquired by	Citizens First National Bank of Storm Lake
11	A1	George Schaller, President
11	Auburn	Auburn Savings Bank—Closed 11/8/85 W. Carl Bruns, President
	Acquired by	Carroll County State Bank
		Carroll
		Joe Gronstal, President
		1986
1	Albia	Peoples National Bank—Closed 2/6/86
		No buyer found; taken over by FDIC
2	Tipton	First National Bank of Tipton—Closed 2/14/86
	Acquired by	Citizens State Bank
2	W/:11:	Anamosa Williams Servings Derth Classed 2/20/86
3	Williams Acquired by	Williams Savings Bank—Closed 3/20/86 Iowa Falls State Bank
	Acquired by	Iowa Falls
4	Dyersville	The National Bank—Closed 4/10/86
	Acquired by	American Trust & Savings Bank
	-	Dubuque
5	Bedford	Bedford National Bank—Closed 5/1/86
	New bank	American National Bank
		Bedford

6	Lone Rock Acquired by	Lone Rock Bank, N.A.—Closed 5/28/86 Swea City State Bank Swea City
7	Pocahontas New bank	Commercial State Bank—Closed 6/27/86 Citizens State Bank 200 North Main Pocahontas 50574
8	Prairie City Acquired by	First National Bank of Prairie City—Closed 7/24/86 Security Bank Marshalltown 301 West Jefferson Prairie City 50228
9	Iowa Falls New bank	Citizens State Bank—Closed 7/31/86 Green Belt State Bank and Trust 616 Washington Avenue Iowa Falls 50126
10	Graettinger Acquired by	Graettinger State Bank—Closed 8/7/86 Swea City State Bank 117 Robins Avenue Graettinger
		1987
1	Latimer Acquired by	Latimer Bank & Trust—Closed 1/15/87 First National Bank Clarion
2	Allison Acquired by	The State Bank of Allison—Closed 2/5/87 Lincoln Savings Bank Reinbeck
3	Rockford Acquired by	The First State Bank—Closed 3/4/87 First Security Bank and Trust Company Charles City
4	Osceola New bank	Osceola State Bank & Trust Co.—Closed 4/23/87 American State Bank Osceola
5	Kanawha Acquired by	Farmers State Bank—Closed 7/30/87 First National Bank Clarion
6	Climbing Hill Acquired by	Climbing Hill Savings Bank—Closed 12/3/87 First Trust & Savings Bank Moville
		1988
1	Aredale Acquired by	Aredale State Bank—Closed 1/20/88 First Security Bank and Trust Company Charles City

2	Hayesville	Hayesville Savings Bank—Closed 3/10/88
3	Forest City New bank	No buyer found Forest City Bank & Trust Co.—Closed 5/6/88 Liberty Bank and Trust Forest City
4	Whiting Acquired by	Community State Bank—Closed 6/2/88 Sloan State Bank Sloan
5	Pisgah Acquired by	Pisgah Savings Bank—Closed 9/1/88 Iowa Savings Bank Woodbine
6	Mingo Acquired by	Mingo Trust & Savings Bank—Closed 9/1/88 Exchange State Bank Collins
		1989 Through 1992
None		
		1993
1	Hamburg Acquired by	Valley National Bank of Fremont County—Closed 4/30/93 The Decatur County State Bank Leon
		1994 Through 1999
None		
		2000
1	Carlisle New bank	Hartford-Carlisle Savings Bank—Closed 1/14/00 Citizens Bank Carlisle
		2001 Through 2008
None		
		2009
1	Sioux City Acquired by	Vantus Bank (thrift)—Closed 9/4/09 Great Southern Bank Reed Spring, Missouri
		2010
None		
		2011
1	Johnston Acquired by	Polk County Bank—Closed 11/18/11 Grinnell State Bank Grinnell

		2012 Through 2022	
None		U U	
		2023	
1	Sac City Acquired by	Citizens Bank—Closed 11/3/23 Iowa Trust & Savings Bank Emmetsburg	